Workplace Leave Laws: Strategies to Navigate the Changing Landscape in Canada

Date(s) of Presentation


ThursdayOctober 26, 2017

3:30pm – 5:00pm NDT
3:00pm – 4:30pm ADT
2:00pm – 3:30pm EDT
1:00pm – 1:30pm CDT
12:00pm – 1:30pm MDT
11:00am – 12:30pm PDT

 

To download the presentation slides, please click here.
To download the speaker biographies, please click here.
To obtain the Certificate of Attendance, please click here.

 

Share

Program Description

This interactive presentation will provide an overview of paid and unpaid leave laws governing employers throughout Canada, with views from seven provinces – including Quebec.  Attendees will be provided with guidance and strategies to navigate the challenges of complying with varying and multifaceted leave laws across the country.

Topics to be addressed include:

  • Non-Occupational Medical Leaves
    • Accommodating and managing medical leaves – a multi-party process
    • Communicating with the absent employee, including obtaining appropriate medical information
    • Can an employee be dismissed while on a medical leave?
  • Statutory Leaves
    • Statutory leaves across Canada – including unusual or new leaves in each jurisdiction
    • Employer obligations – paid v. unpaid, benefit continuation, return to work requirements, pay increases, seniority accruals, etc.
  • Religious Considerations
    • When can an employee take time off work for religious observance?
    • Is an employer required to provide paid time off?  When?
  • Family Status Leaves
    • Current law as it relates to family status leaves
    • Is the test different for child care v. elder care obligations?
  • The View from Quebec
    • As a Civil Code jurisdiction, how do the laws in Quebec differ from the rest of Canada?
    • Is there anything unique about Quebec when it comes to leaves?

Who Should Attend?

The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms. The information presented will be of particular interest to all involved in ensuring compliance with leave law regulations:

  • In-house Counsel
  • Human Resources Professionals
  • Corporate Executives and Business Owners

Moderator:

Shana French
Sherrard Kuzz LLP
Ontario, Canada

Speakers:

Amy Bradbury
Barteaux Durnford
Nova Scotia, Canada

James Kondopulos
Roper Greyell LLP
British Columbia, Canada

Kit McGuinness
McKercher LLP
Saskatchewan, Canada

Jessica Thomson
Neuman Thompson
Alberta, Canada

Kseniya Veretelnik
Loranger Marcoux LLP Quebec, Canada