Reconciling Employment Laws with Local Content Requirements in Africa: Focusing on Natural Resources and Extractive Industries

Date(s) of Presentation

Wednesday, February 28, 2018
7:00am – 8:30am EST
12:00pm – 1:30pm GMT
1:00pm – 2:30pm GMT +1
2:00pm – 3:30pm GMT +2
3:00pm – 4:30pm GMT +3

To download the presentation slides, please click here.
To download the speaker biographies, please click here.
To obtain the Certificate of Attendance, please click here.  

Share

Reconciling Employment Laws with Local Content Requirements in Africa:
Focusing on Natural Resources and Extractive Industries

The natural resources and extractive industries have recently experienced unprecedented growth and activity across the continent. This has brought a number of new players into the market as they seek to capitalise on the abundant resources and find new ways of sourcing and mining valuable raw materials.

Investing companies now have to grapple with the appropriate employment laws and understand how they will affect their business operations given this is a regulated industry that has certain provisions in place to protect local employees and their rights.

During this webinar, experienced local lawyers from across Africa will explore the various laws that govern the local content requirements and uncover the challenges employers will face in terms of compliance. They will also share practical insights into overcoming these challenges, give guidance on what employers can do to prepare for market entry and put in place the appropriate protection to level the playing fields.

Countries listed below are in the order of which they will present:

•South Africa: Lusanda Raphulu (moderator)– Bowmans

•Kenya: Sonal Sejpal – Anjarwalla & Khanna | ALN

•Nigeria: Mary Ekemezie – Udo Udoma & Belo-Osagie

•Tanzania: Shamiza Ratansi – ATZ Law Chambers | ALN

•Egypt: Bahieldin El Ibrachy – Ibrachy & Dermarkar

•Uganda:  Ernest Sembatya – MMAKS Advocates | ALN

•Morocco: Mohamed Oulkhouir – CWA Morocco

Who Should Attend?

This webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms.  The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • In-house Counsel

  • Human Resources Professionals

  • Corporate Executives and Business Owners