Workplace Indecencies and Indiscretions – Best Practices for Canadian Colleges and Universities

Date(s) of Presentation
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to register

Click here for the webinar power point slides

Click here to download the Certificate of Attendance

Program Description:

This webinar brings together management-side labour and employment lawyers from across Canada who will address one of the most pressing issues facing education employers today: sexual indecencies and indiscretions in the workplace. These types of on-campus offences unfortunately tend to attract high-profile media attention, which can in turn have catastrophic consequences for educational institutions, including the degradation of workplace morale, program quality and institutional brand. The speakers will offer higher education employers guidance and best practices for proactively and decisively addressing the following workplace issues:

  • Sexual harassment –employers’ obligations, responsibilities, and valuable lessons learned from recent cases.
  • Workplace romances – are anti-fraternization policies a good idea? What type of conduct can an employer legitimately prohibit in the workplace?
  • Off duty conduct – when do an employee’s off-duty indiscretions become an employer’s concern?

Local Start Times:

  • 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. AST
  • 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. EST
  • 2:00 – 3:30 p.m. CST
  • 1:00 – 2:30 p.m. MST
  • 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. PST
  • 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. HAST

Speakers:

  • Erin Kuzz, Moderator, Sherrard Kuzz, Toronto, Ontario
  • Paul L. Clemens, McKercher, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Eric Durnford, Barteaux Durnford, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Shana French, Sherrard Kuzz, Toronto, Ontario
  • Cynthia Lazar, Taylor McCaffrey, Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Carl Panet-Raymond, Loranger Marcoux, Montreal, Quebec
  • Jennifer Russell, Roper Greyell, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Jessica Thomson, Neuman Thompson, Edmonton, Alberta