Social Media and Privacy: Challenges Facing European Employers

Date(s) of Presentation
Thursday, May 24, 2012
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to access the power point slides

Click here to access the Certificate of Attendance

Program Description:

As European employees continue to blog, tweet, and use social media in greater numbers than ever before, European-based businesses need to fully understand when and how the law allows them to use this information and to hold both applicants and employees accountable for their internet activities.  Compounding this problem is that laws and rules vary from country to country.  This webinar brings together legal experts from across Europe, who will provide practical insight into the most important issues regarding employee privacy and the impact of social media on the workplace, including: 

  • Workplace privacy and employee monitoring: the do’s and don’ts
  • Holding applicants and employees responsible for tweeting, blogging, and using social media
  • Differentiating between personal and work-related communication
  • When and how background checks can include obtaining information on the Web
  • Data protection and privacy issues 

Speakers:

  • Michael Porter, Moderator, Partner, Miller Nash LLP, Portland, OR, USA
  • Sonia Cortes, Partner, Cuatrecasas, Goncalves Pereira, S.L.P., Barcelona, Spain
  • Olle Jansson, Partner, Kilpatrick Townsend, Stockholm Sweden
  • Michael Leftley, Partner, Addleshaw Goddard, London, England 
  • Jan Tibor Lelley, Partner, Buse, Heberer Fromm, Essen, Germany 
  • Angelo Zambelli, Partner, Grimaldi Studio Legale, Milan, Italy

Local Starting Times:

  • 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. GMT
  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. BST
  • 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. CEST
  • 10:00-11:30 a.m. US EDT
  • 9:00-10:30 a.m. US CDT
  • 8:00-9:30 a.m. US MDT
  • 7:00-8:30 a.m. US PDT 

Questions:

Contact Linda Henderson at: leh@employmentlawalliance.com