What Employers in Asia Need to Know about Protecting Company Rights and Confidential Information - North Asia

Date(s) of Presentation
Thursday, March 12, 2015, 3:00-4:30 a.m. GMT
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to download the webinar power point slides

Local Start Times

  • 3:00-4:30 a.m. GMT
  • 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (China; Hong Kong)
  • 12:00-1:30 p.m. (Japan; Korea)

Webinar Description

Employers in Asia are increasingly facing how best to protect confidential information and IP rights when an employee leaves the company. Restrictive covenants sometimes help, but provisions that are not well-drafted may not be enforceable. This webinar, featuring employment lawyers from across Asia, will use a case scenario to offer guidance and practical insight into how employers can address these key issues, specifically:

  • How can employers prevent terminated employees from competing with their former company?
  • If there is a post-termination non-compete, what remedies are available to the employer?
  • What course of action can employers take when faced with a breach of a confidentiality obligation and IP rights?
  • What are the myriad considerations if the confidentiality breach involves cross-borders?

Speakers

  • Matthew F. Jones, Moderator, Kim & Chang, Seoul, South Korea
  • Cynthia Chung, Deacons, Hong Kong
  • Kenichi Kojima, Ushijima & Partners, Tokyo, Japan
  • Jeffrey Wilson, Jun He, Shanghai, China
  • Chun Y. Yang, Kim & Chang, Seoul, South Korea