"Privatized" Student Housing on Campus

Date(s) of Presentation
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to register

Click here to download the webinar power point

Click here to access the webinar Certificate of Attendance

Start Time:

  • 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. U.S. EDT
  • 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. U.S. CDT
  • 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. U.S. MDT
  • 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. U.S. PDT
  • 9:00 – 10:00 a.m. HAST

Webinar Description:

It has become increasingly common for colleges and universities to partner with private parties and other entities to develop, construct, and operate student housing. Such privatization can provide significant financial and other advantages, but it also can present unique legal and business considerations. This free 60-minute webinar, presented by the Higher Education Council of the Employment Law Alliance (www.ela.law), focuses on the advantages and disadvantages, as well as the risks and benefits, of working with private parties to develop, own and/or operate student housing. The speakers will also provide insight and guidance on:

  • Structure alternatives
  • Protecting the school’s interests
  • Foundation-owned projects
  • Credit impacts

Speakers:

  • Christine Helwick, Moderator, Hirschfeld Kraemer, San Francisco, CA
  • Brandon K. Lewisohn, Parker Poe, Adams & Bernstein, Charlotte, NC
  • Paul W. Reichel, Bond Schoeneck & King, Syracuse, NY