Navigating the U.S. Business Immigration Maze: Practical Guidance for Employers

Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to register

Click here for the webinar power point slides

Click here to download the webinar Certificate of Attendance

Program Description

Global competition continues to rise, increasing pressure on U.S. employers to attract and retain the world's best and brightest talent. By 2018, the shortage of qualified STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) workers for open positions is expected to exceed 200,000. At the same time, U.S. employers fight each year for the chance to enter the lottery for scarce specialty worker visas, which are filled within days of the government's opening bell. In addition, talented international students graduate each year with few options to use their training for U.S. employers. As the U.S. evolves into a more knowledge-driven economy, employers face diminishing options for using talented foreign workers. Immigration lawyers from across the nation will address the following business immigration hot topics and help demystify the U.S. immigration process to keep you competitive in the hunt for global talent. 

  • L-1 Visas: Pitfalls and strategies for intra-company talent transfers
  • H1b cap strategies: To STEM and beyond!
  • Keeping them legal: Managing the compliance patchwork and the I-9
  • Who's knocking?  Handling the H1b Audit
  • Understanding the changes to the Visa Bulletin 
  • Best practice take-aways 

Local Start Times

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. EST
  • 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. CST
  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. MST
  • 12:00-1:30 p.m. PST
  • 10:00-11:30 a.m. HAST

Speakers:

  • Todd P. Photopulos, Moderator, Butler Snow, Memphis, TN
  • Gabrielle M. Buckley, Vedder Price, Chicago, IL
  • Melanie Gurley Keeney, Tueth, Keeney, Cooper, Mohan & Jackstadt, St. Louis, MO
  • Teri A. Simmons, Arnall Golden Gregory, Atlanta, GA
  • Roger Y. Tsai, Holland and Hart, Salt Lake City, UT