Lessons Learned in Higher Education: Sexual Misconduct Around the World

Date(s) of Presentation

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
11:00am – 12:30pm EDT
10:00am – 11:30am CDT
8:00am – 9:30am PDT
4:00pm – 5:30pm CET
7:00pm – 8:30pm GMT+4

 

DOWNLOAD SPEAKER BIOS HERE
DOWNLOAD PRESENTATION HERE
DOWNLOAD CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE HERE

Share

The U.S., the U.K., China, Australia, France… everyone is grappling with what to do as reports of campus sexual misconduct increase.  This webinar will be presented by a panel with decades of experience who advise institutions of higher education in the US with programs abroad. 

 

Our experts from across the US will address:

  • The types of conduct being reported: Sexual harassment &  sexual assault

    • What is driving the increased reporting?

  • Prevention strategies: Some things are required for compliance, some things actually work

    • Which is which?

  • Formulating an effective response:

    • What to do when the organization receives a report:

      • Who should be involved?

      • What should happen versus what actually happens?

    • Anonymous complaints, third-hand reports, claims from prior employees and students, decades-old conduct and other challenges

    • What is the institution’s legal obligation?

  • Specific issues in higher education:

    • Dealing with power: senior administrators, faculty, and coaches accused of sexual misconduct

    • Does Title IX apply to international locations of U.S. institutions?

 

Who Should Attend?

This webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms.  The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • Campus, In-house Counsel

  • Title IX Administrators and Investigators

  • Human Resources Professionals

  • Student Affairs Professionals

Speakers:

Kate Nash - Moderator 
Tueth Keeny Cooper Mohan Jackstadt P.C.
Missouri‚Äč

Natasha Baker
Hirschfeld Kraemer
California

Michael Porter
Miller Nash Graham & Dunn
Oregon

Stephen Vaughan
Gray, Plant, Mooty
Minnesota