Hot Topics in Employment Law for the Oil and Gas Industry: A Global Perspective

Date(s) of Presentation
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to download the webinar power point slides

Click here to download the webinar Certificate of Attendance

Click here to register

Start Time (be sure to confirm your corresponding local time):

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. GMT
  • 4:00 - 5:30 p.m. CET
  • 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. US EST
  • 9:00 - 10:30 a.m. US CST
  • 8:00 - 9:30 a.m. US MST

Program Description:

Among the many challenges that companies in the oil and gas industry face is operating in multiple jurisdictions all around the globe, often using contractors and employees brought in from other countries where employment laws and company policies may differ.  This webinar brings together legal experts from the major oil and gas centers around the world – Canada, Kenya, Norway, Scotland, the U.S. and UAE – who will address three of the most common and important issues facing employers in this growing industry:

  • Internationalization, including the legal challenges of bringing in workers from other countries and contractually protecting workers who are sent abroad.
  • Atypical work arrangements and efforts to avoid the creation of traditional employment relationships, and the corresponding legal risks and challenges associated with using consultants, independent contractors and agency workers.
  • The use of drug and alcohol, fitness for return to duty, and other forms of safety-related testing designed to ensure an accident-free workplace.

Speakers:

  • Thomas W.R. Ross, Moderator, McLennan Ross, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Adam Childers, Crowe & Dunlevy, Oklahoma City, OK, USA
  • Sara Khoja, Clyde & Co., Dubai, UAE
  • Hugh J.D. McPhail, McLennan Ross, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Sean Saluja, Burness Paull, Aberdeen, Scotland
  • Sonal Sejpal, Anjarwalla & Khanna Advocates, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Nicolay Skarning, Kvale, Oslo, Norway