Hot Topics in Canadian Employment Law: A Coast-to-Coast Review

Date(s) of Presentation
Tuesday, October 16, 2012
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here for the power point slides

Click here for the Certificate of Attendance

Local Start Times:

  • 3:00-4:30 p.m. Atlantic Standard Time
  • 2:00-3:30 p.m. US EDT
  • 1:00-2:30 p.m. US CDT
  • 12:00-1:30 p.m. US MDT
  • 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. USPDT
  • 8:00-9:30 a.m. HAST 

Program Description:

Canadian Employment Law has been shaped by several significant decisions in the past few yearsthat impact employers and employees alike.  This webinar brings together apanel of legal expertsfrom all corners of the country whowill review some of these hot topics from a national perspective, provide practical guidance, and insight, and share some real stories from the trenches (and therefore mistakes to avoid), on such topics as:

  • Attendance Management- How to encourage regular attendance and how to deal with those that won't.
  • Damages - What has happened since Honda v. Keays?  What are the Courts currently doing with bad faith, punitive, moral and mental damages? 
  • Mitigation- Do employees have an obligation to mitigate with their former employer? What is reasonable?
  • Post Termination Covenants- Confidentiality, Non-Solicitation, Non-Competition - what are the limits on these covenants and what are the remedies in the event of a breach?

Speakers:

  • Gregory J. Heywood, Moderator, Roper Greyell LLP, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Nancy F. Barteaux,Ritch Durnford, Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Shana French,Sherrard Kuzz LLP, Toronto, Ontario
  • Teresa R. Haykowsky,McLennan Ross LLP, Edmonton, Alberta
  • Catherine Maheu, Lavery de Billy, Montreal Quebec
  • Grant Mitchell,Taylor McCaffrey LLP, Manitoba, Alberta