Latest Trends in Non-Competes for Africa and the Middle East

Date(s) of Presentation


Wednesday, June 7, 2017

1:30pm – 3:00pm London
2:30pm – 4:00pm CEST
3:30pm – 5:00pm EAT
4:30pm – 6:00pm GST
8:30am – 10:00am EDT
7:30am – 9:00am CDT


 

Share

To view the powerpoint slide presentation, please click here.
To view the Speaker Biographies, please click here.
To download the Certificate of Attendance, please click here.
 

Program Description

What happens when an employee serves notice or is terminated but then is immediately employed by a competitor? Traditionally, non- compete clauses would prevent this scenario from affecting your business. Increasingly, employers and employees alike are being challenged on enforceability of non-compete clauses.

  How should employers protect their position on termination of employee contracts?
  To what extent can an employer rely on the enforceability of these types of clauses to secure their interests?
  How does the law protect an employee who has signed up to such a clause?

For employers with operations in Africa and the Middle East, this webinar will provide useful insight to and guidance on potential challenges and solutions on the following:

  Latest trends on challenges to terminations of employment
  Drafting an appropriate non-compete clause into an employment contract
  Waiving/Enforcing a non-compete clause
  What to do if a non-compete clause is not in an employees contract but is now required 

Who Should Attend?

The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms. The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  In-house Counsel
  Human Resources Professionals
  Corporate Executives and Business Owners

Register

Click here to register, and then click the “register” link to the right of the title. Please be sure to confirm the corresponding start time in your local time zone. 

CLE/HRCI Credit

The Employment Law Alliance is not able to offer CLE/HRCI credits; however, for states that will accept it, a Certificate of Attendance will be posted with the other webinar materials immediately following the webinar for you to download as needed.

Speakers:

Sonal Sepjal
Moderator
Anjarwalla & Khanna
Nairobi, Kenya

Rosa Nduati-Mutero
Anjarwalla & Khanna
Nairobi, Kenya

Shamiza Ratansi
ATZ Law Chambers
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Mary Ekemezie
Udo Udoma & Belo- Osagie
Lagos, Nigeria 

Ben Brown
Clyde & Co.
Dubai, UAE

Ernest Sembatya
MMAKS Advocates
Kampala, Uganda 

Pnina Broder
Naschitz Brandes Amir
Tel-Aviv, Isreal