Cultural and Communication Issues that Impact Global Business

Date(s) of Presentation

Thursday, June 29, 2017


11:00am–12:00pm EDT
10:00am–11:00am CDT
9:00am – 10:00am MDT
8:00am – 9:00am PDT
5:00am – 6:00am HST

Share

To download the presentation slides, please click here.
To view the speaker bio, please click here.
To download the certificate attendance, please click here.

Program Description

Working globally is challenging for many reasons, and differing cultural communication styles often exacerbates the difficulties.  Whether it is differences in the importance of hierarchy, the preference for direct or indirect communication, or the value placed on relationship-building, a lack of awareness of cultural expectations can often impede the success of global business interactions.

We invite you to join us for a one-hour session on “Culture and Communications Issues that Impact Global Business” where a number of these issues will be addressed:

  • Why agreements across global boundaries are often misunderstood
  • Understanding the multiple meanings of 'yes'
  • How to obtain clear agreement among global colleagues

As part of this session, you will also be given complimentary access to the industry-leading GlobeSmart Profileā„  for use with your global colleagues and team members. The GlobeSmart Profile allows you to quickly see similarities and differences between your preferred style of interacting and that of other cultures, individuals, or team members.

The webinar will be presented by Aperian Global, an organization dedicated to enabling individuals, teams and organizations to work effectively across boundaries. With over 25 years of experience, Aperian Global partners with organizations to develop the skills necessary for success in a global work environment via facilitated learning programs, consulting and online learning tools. Aperian Global offers global talent development solutions to many organizations in the areas of Leadership Development, Inclusion & Diversity, Team Effectiveness and Global Mobility. Aperian Global’s GlobeSmart®, an online cultural intelligence tool, focuses on how to conduct business effectively around the world and has supported over one million registered users in over 160 organizations and universities worldwide.

Who Should Attend?

The webinar is an invitation-only event exclusively for clients of ELA member law firms.  The information presented will be of particular interest to:

  • Global Business Managers
  • Leaders of Global Teams
  • Human Resources Professionals
  • Corporate Executives and Business Owners
  • People working globally

Register

Click here to register, and then click the “register” link to the right of the title. Please be sure to confirm the corresponding start time in your local time zone.

Presenter

Lisa Kieffer
Director of Consulting
Aperian Global
Denver, CO

Moderator

Peter Walts
CEO
Employment Law Alliance
Philadelphia, PA