Legal Update on Campus Sexual Violence: Clery, VAWA, Title IX and Beyond

Date(s) of Presentation
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Share

NOTE: If you want to listen to or view the contents of this webinar, you must register on the ELA website here or, if you have previously created an account, log in using the link in the top right. After your account is created, you will have access to all past webinars.

Click here to register

Click here to download the webinar power point

Click here to download the webinar Certificate of Attendance

Local Start Times

  • 3:00 – 4:00 p.m. U.S. EDT
  • 2:00 – 3:00 p.m. U.S. CDT
  • 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. U.S. MDT
  • 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. U.S. PDT
  • 9:00– 10:00 a.m. HAST

Program Description

Colleges and universities face ever-increasing compliance requirements with respect to sexual assault and other campus safety issues. This free 60-minute webinar, presented by the Higher Education Council of the Employment Law Alliance (www.ela.law), focuses on recent regulatory changes that significantly add to institutional obligations under the Clery Act, Violence Against Women Re-Authorization Act, and Title IX. Higher education attorneys from across the U.S. will provide insight and guidance on:

  • Final regulations for VAWA amendments to Clery Act – effective July 1, 2015
  • Expanded definitions of sexual violence, dating violence, domestic violence, and stalking
  • Additional crime reporting requirements in annual Clery Act reports
  • Incorporating new VAWA provisions into an effective threat assessment program
  • Training and education obligations for students, faculty, and staff
  • Outreach to victims of sexual violence and other crimes

Speakers

  • Jennifer S. Divine, Moderator, Miller Nash Graham & Dunn, Seattle WA
  • Megan Farrell, Hirschfeld Kraemer, San Francisco, CA
  • Kathryn M. Nash, Gray Plant Mooty, Minneapolis, MN
  • Jeffrey J. Nolan, Dinse, Knapp & McAndrew, Burlington, VT